About The Doctor


 Dr. Shalini Mahajan 

Dr. Mahajan is a highly qualified, triple board-certified neurologist with extensive experience in the diagnosis and management of neuDr. Shalini Mahajanromuscular diseases.

After obtaining her MD degree from the University of Delhi, she completed her residency training in Neurology at the University of Southern California. She then completed two fellowships in Neuromuscular Medicine, focusing on Neuromuscular pathology at the University of Southern California and on Neuro-electrodiagnostics and genetics at the University of California, Los Angeles.

Dr. Mahajan received her Board certification in both Neurology and Neuromuscular Medicine by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology. She is also board certified in Clinical Neuromuscular Pathology by the United Council of Neurologic Subspecialties.

Dr. Mahajan has performed and interpreted several hundred muscle biopsies and nerve biopsies. With her multidisciplinary training, she is able to uniquely integrate cutting-edge genetic diagnostic techniques with muscle pathology and state-of- the-art laboratory sciences into her clinical management. Her expertise in Clinical Neuromuscular medicine and Pathology allows her to provide advanced neurological care to patients not only with auto-immune diseases such as inflammatory myopathies, but also muscular dystrophies, peripheral neuropathies, myasthenia gravis and, motor neuron diseases-ALS. 

Dr. Mahajan brings a compassionate, patient-centered approach to her practice of medicine and has become a prominent and highly sought-after expert in the field. She has published in this field, and enjoys lecturing frequently to students, patients and peers about neuromuscular medicine.

Dr. Mahajan is also an active Member of the American Academy of Neurology, American Association of Neuromuscular and Electrodiagnostic Medicine and the World Muscle Society.


Awards and Recognition: 

• Patients' Choice Award (2014, 2015, 2016)
• On-Time Doctor Award (2015, 2016)
• Compassionate Doctor Recognition (2014, 2015, 2016)